10 January 2008 ~ 2 Comments

Bazo’s Fresh Mexican Grill

Subtitle: “No, really…HOLD the guacamole, please!”

I really hate to post a lukewarm review as my second post on this site, but as my favorite bumper sticker reads, “Pobody’s Nerfect”.

I went with my lunch-going co-worker (we’ll call him “Jam” from now on) and another good buddy of mine (who is vegetarian – pertinent to this review). Maybe we just came on the wrong day, as my lunch buddies and I were all fairly disappointed.

My co-worker ordered the Baja Burrito with steak and no guacamole or salsa fresco, I order the same, persnickety burrito, but with chicken. Our veggie buddy ordered the obvious Vegetarian Burrito. Our order was brought out fairly quickly, but both Jam and I got Chicken Baja Burritos with Guacamole. I decided that I’d be a bit adventurous and go ahead, but Jam took his back to the counter and they happily re-made it.

As the server brought out his correct steak burrito, she mentioned that she thought they might have made this one with guacamole too. Sure enough, they did. She apologized and offered to re-make it, but since our veggie buddy and I were 1/4 into our burritos, he declined and said he would just eat it.

Just when we thought it couldn’t get any worse, our “No, mine’s perfect” vegetarian friend cut a piece of his burrito and out fell a piece of chicken. If he were a bit more of a hardcore vegetarian, I sense a scene might have been made. He reassured himself that it was the only piece in there, and finished up.

Wow.

Needless to say, neither of us were too pleased with our incorrectly prepared burritos. I think even without the guacamole, the burrito wouldn’t have had the same delicious effect that Moe’s and Q*doba have on me. The hot salsa was not hot at all. My toddler could eat it. I expect HOT, dernit.

So, if it helps make this review seem a bit better, I’ve always loved this place in the past. I typically enjoy this St. Matthews eatery known for their fish tacos. I remember the salsa bar having a few more options than the 3 selections they had this time around. I think I’ll stick to the Chicken Quesadilla like I used to get. They’ve got quite an impressive menu (think Q*doba), so there’s bound to be something you’ll like. I just hope you like guaca-freakin’-mole.

RATING: 4/10

Cost: $18 and some change for two of us (more expensive than most restaurants of this type)
Address: 323 Wallace Ave | Louisville, KY 40207
Phone: (502) 899-9600

Tags: , , ,
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...

2 Responses to “Bazo’s Fresh Mexican Grill”

  1. Jerry Colvin 28 February 2008 at 9:15 am Permalink

    This was a great restaurant two or three years ago, with great food and friendly management, but has definitely gone downhill. Their chicken quesadillas used to be my favorite ever, anywhere. However, last time I went (a couple of months ago) and ordered that, it resembled nothing like the ones from the past.. it just had a sprinkle of cheese and hardly any chicken. Maybe I should have ordered one without chicken in order to get more chicken, ha. Anyway, that was the last of several disappointing visits over the past year… I shall not return unless I hear from multiple sources that things have improved. I’m now doing what I don’t normally like to do… eating at a chain (El Salsarita’s)…. in order to get my chicken quesadilla fix.

  2. Nira Kinkhabwala 19 May 2008 at 6:00 pm Permalink

    I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our restaurant. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. After, I read your review I immediately realised who you were. I was the one who took your order. You had orderd two baja burritos no guacamole and no salsa fresca (Ranchero style I think) and your order was made with guacamole.

    The employee who made your order has been working for us for over 7 years. She has been one of our best employees and has always ensured quality products by following standards of operation. I personally feel that she was having a bad day that day and it reflected on her work

    Again I would like to apologize to you and hope that you will come back and visit us and give us another opportunity to make things right.

    Also, we are no longer at the Wallace ave location. We have moved to 4014 Dutchmans Lane and we will re open in another 2 weeks. Our phone number is 502 899 9600

    Thank you and we look forward to seeing you at Bazo’s again


Leave a Reply